The Round Church, Cambridge

Hello, and thank you for reading my first post of 2012!

Unfortunately I have not been able to spend a lot of my spare time writing, due to having to do boring things like applying for new jobs.  Thankfully that’s sorted itself out for the time being so I can start doing what I really want to do again! Yay!

I decided I would post about something I have walked past many times in Cambridge but have never actually visited – The Round Church (The Church of the Holy Sepulchre)

Me outside the Round Church

The Round Church, one of only three in the country, is situated on Bridge Street opposite St John’s College.  It is the second oldest building in Cambridge (it was in its 80th year when the university was founded) and houses a very interesting exhibition called ‘The impact of christianity in England’. Although it might not sound very interesting if you aren’t religious (I’m not), the mixture of christianity and Cambridge history make it worth visiting.

Along the walls there are twelve large information panels starting with the Roman era through to recent times. Each panel is structured in the same way with the first section introducing you to the specific era and christianity within that era, the second section comments on certain points within the introduction (such as what feudalism was).  The last section discusses the history of Cambridge, combining it with how it fits in with the history of christianity. Panels include Puritans, Age of Reason and modern science, along with the Victorians, Saxons, Normans and so on.

There is a twenty minute film about Cambridge, called ‘Saints and Scholars’, which you can sit in the pews to watch.  They also run guided walks which give the visitor a feel of the history of Cambridge.  I have not been on one of these walks yet, but it is something I plan to do.  A review of said walk will appear as a blog post in the near future!

The church is no longer used for services as apparently the congregation became too big for the church!  Services are now held at St Andrew The Great Church opposite Christ’s College.

If you have ever stepped foot in a church you will know that they can be very cold places, the Round Church included!  Remember to wear a few layers if you are thinking of going!

It is closed on Mondays and open 10.00 am – 5.00 pm Tuesday to Saturday and 1.00pm  – 5.00 pm on Sundays.

You can also buy books from their mini library and postcards and other souvenirs from their shop.

I’m glad I took the time to visit.  Cambridge is full of history and amazing buildings, I feel I don’t always appreciate them as I live here.  Sometimes I like to take time out of being a ‘local’ and visit places in the city as if I was a visitor.  It’s a fun thing to do.

About Maria Explores...

Blogger and Freelance Writer
This entry was posted in Cambridge, History, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Round Church, Cambridge

  1. bookzilla says:

    One of the things I loved most about the time I spent in London (and Prague and Warsaw) was the fact that no matter where I went, I was surrounded by history. I live in a part of Texas that’s swimming in history (the Alamo, Goliad, etc.), but even the US’ oldest history is brand spanking new when compared what I saw in Europe.

    One thing I’ve always wondered: do the people who live amongst all that history realize how lucky they are, and how important all of the churches and buildings and architecture are, or are they just like me, who drives past the Alamo and doesn’t even always see it there?

    • mariawriter says:

      Prague is a beautiful place isn’t it? Would love to go back.

      I’ve always taken Cambridge for granted and never really bothered to visit places here, I guess other people are the same with their area too, glad it’s not just me! The older I get I begin to appreciate Cambridge more.

      • bookzilla says:

        Prague is one of my favorite places on earth, and it’s on my bucket list to go back one day (and take my husband with me).

        I’m glad to hear that someone else is often immune to the history that’s around them. That’s what I like about traveling to different places; there’s so much to see and do, and it makes you a bit more appreciative of the history that’s around you every day.

  2. Yet, another reason to return to England. I have yet to make it to Cambridge, but one day I must! 🙂 Thanks for giving me something new to add to my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

