March – Daffodils

First of all Happy Mothers Day!  Hope any mum’s reading this have had a lovely day.

We are half way through March! Where is the time going?

I have also realised that my blog will be one year old on April 29th!  Better get thinking of something interesting to write by way of celebration then..hmmm.  Perhaps my followers/readers can think of something they would really like to read about?  Suggestions very welcome! So, set me a challenge to write about something in particular, I do like a good challenge.

Anyway, back to March.  As it is Mothers Day I thought I’d blog about a March related flower.

Daffodils

I have decided Daffodils are my favourite flower, I love their shape and colour.  I also love how daffodils sometimes grow in random places, some in a bunch, some singularly. I have noticed this on my bus journeys to and from work.  They seem to turn up nowhere near others that are all growing together.

Also known as Narcissus or Lent Lily, daffodils are the ‘birth flower’ for March so I thought I’d give them a shout out in my blog.  The pics in this post are daffodils in my parents garden.As a spring flower, daffodils are seen as a symbol of re-birth, it also said they also symbolise respect, regard and unrequited love. However, if you ever found yourself experiencing an urge to eat one don’t, they are poisonous.  So now you know, hehe.

The Romans are said to have gifted daffodils to England, via the Mediterranean, as they were thought to have healing powers. Unless of course you ate one and you’d probably die instead, or at the very least feel very itchy as the Romans discovered when they tried using it as a healing aid.  Daffodils emit crystals as a defence mechanism, which was why the Romans began to itch a lot.

According to folklore, you should be extremely careful when walking around a daffodil bed because if you stamp your feet or trample on them you will experience bad luck.  However, if you are nice to them and avoid stepping on them you will experience good luck.  Never give anyone a single daffodil as this will being misfortune to the house, they can also cause migraines if you are in a confined space with one apparently, so you have been warned!

Daffodils are beginning to sound a bit evil to me, I think they’d make a great baddie in a horror story. Attack of the Killer Daffodils anyone?

Perhaps the best setting for a daffodil horror story could be Thriplow, a village not that far from mine.  It hosts a daffodil weekend one weekend every March and is holding its 44th festival is this weekend.  I have never been and was hoping to go yesterday, until I discovered that although Thriplow is not far it is almost impossible to get to if you rely on public transport, pffft!  I am hoping next year I can persuade someone with a car that they really do want to go!

I think that’s enough about those feisty daffodils!  Although I am fascinated by them and they are still my favourite flower, hehe.

Must start that horror story…

About Maria Explores...

Blogger and Freelance Writer
This entry was posted in Cambridge, Customs and Traditions, History, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to March – Daffodils

  1. Viveka says:

    Love this flower too … this is spring for me.

  2. I love how you included the folklore of the daffodil…I am a sucker for cultural history! Interesting (and pretty)!

Leave a Reply

