King’s College Chapel, Cambridge

IMAG0184

Hello everyone 🙂 I have been trying to write this post for absolutely ages! If you are reading this I have finally posted it! Yay!

I recently spent a couple of weeks researching and writing an unrelated article for a Local Secrets (a website/online magazine for Cambridgeshire).  I was very excited to see it published on their site on Monday!  The article is primarily aimed at local people but would be helpful for anyone looking for ideas of things to do/places to see in Cambridge.

Here is the link to my article Please do have a read 🙂

So, on to the main point of this post…

It is possible I have mentioned this before, one of my favourite things to do in Cambridge is spend time wandering around the grounds of the colleges in Cambridge.  I love that you can be in the middle of a busy, noisy city and then transported somewhere peaceful and completely different in an instant.  Every time I leave I find myself wishing I was a student! Although all of that studying and research might give me second thoughts!

The university is made up of thirty-one colleges, each one unique, dotted about the city with several on the outskirts.

Following on from my previous post I decided this post would be about King’s College and its famous Chapel.

IMAG0187  IMAG0188  IMAG0186  IMAG0191 IMAG0192

Founded by King Henry vi in 1441, King’s College and its chapel (which was built later, building started in 1446) are one of Cambridge’s most iconic buildings.  Some of my photos above show the amazing architecture in the grounds.

Although most of the college is out-of-bounds to the public a little wander around the grounds does give you an insight in to what it might be like inside.  It would be lovely to be able to have a look round all the buildings but that’s just me being very nosey!

The college has a library which is open to the public, I haven’t been in there yet, but look forward to visiting.

The chapel, which took a century to build, is definitely worth visiting.  It’s a fascinating place, there is a lot to see and learn whilst wandering around, it is also very warm which was very welcome the day we were there!

IMAG0159

Whilst exploring don’t forget to look up for an amazing view of the fan vaulting, which is the largest in the world.  Not sure what fan vaulting is?  Here is a history of fan vaulting should you want to know more!  Alternatively here is a pic I took, which doesn’t do it justice but gives you an idea of what it looks like!

IMAG0180

There used to be a no photos policy in the chapel, but visitors can now take photos as long as there is no flash photography.  The signs also show ‘no mobiles’ but as most visitors use their phones as cameras they seem to be fine with that, as long as you don’t make calls on them inside.

Here are a few more of my photos.  I love stained glass windows, as you might have noticed!

IMAG0179  IMAG0165   IMAG0170  IMAG0169  IMAG0177

The King’s College choir, famous for its Christmas Eve festival of Nine lessons, uses the chapel on a daily basis.  The choir also receives invitations to perform around the world.  The choir has been an important part of the college since Henry iv introduced it, specifying that the choisters should be young poor boys who would be provided with meals and clothing.

As you can see the chapel has always been a very important  of the college, and remains tha way.  There is so much more to it than I have posted about here.  If you are unable to visit I can recommend the virtual tour.

It is posible to work as a volunteer at the chapel, so something to think about if you are local or visiting for an extended period of time!  I’m thinking of applying to volunteer this year.

 My next post, which I hope won’t take me as long!, will be about Magdalene College.  I am thinking about writing more college related posts in future.  Would you be interested in finding out more about the other colleges?  Let me know what you think 🙂

About Maria Explores...

Blogger and Freelance Writer
This entry was posted in 101 challenges, Cambridge, Cities, Customs and Traditions, History, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

